Oklahoma-Medical-Marijuana-Laws
Date: November 10, 2020
Breaking Down Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Laws

The state of Oklahoma passed medical marijuana in June 2018 when voters approved Oklahoma State Question 788. The state laws are continuously evolving, so understanding what the updated laws are is of utmost importance for any patient’s safety. The Oklahoma State Department of Health manages the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) which provides all updated information regarding Oklahoma medical marijuana laws from the government. 

We have created a guide of rules for you to have a better understanding of the state’s laws. From possession to driving under the influence to cultivation, we are here to help safely guide you in your journey with cannabis.

Possession Laws

Only patients and caregivers with proper medical licenses can possess cannabis in the state of Oklahoma. If you are a registered patient you will be provided with a state-issued license for use and possession of cannabis.

Possession is permitted to be: 

  • 3 ounces of cannabis on your person and 8 ounces of cannabis at home
  • 1 ounce of cannabis concentrate
  • 72 ounces of cannabis edibles

If caught with cannabis and no medical license a person will receive a misdemeanor and a fine of up to $400.

Cultivation Laws

If you as a patient choose to cultivate your own cannabis you can do so in the primary household. Caregivers may also be designated by the patient to grow the plant on your behalf. There is a limit to growing cannabis in the primary residence of:

  • 6 mature plants
  • 6 seedlings

If you do not own the property in which you live you must receive written consent from the landlord to cultivate. Keep in mind different municipalities have different zoning restrictions with growing cannabis at home. Before you begin your cultivation process it is best to check with the local government to see if there are any constraints.

Out of State Visitors

If you are a temporary visitor to the state of Oklahoma you can be granted a temporary patient’s license granting you the ability to purchase, possess, consume, and cultivate cannabis under the same resident laws. A minor who will need a temporary license must have a parent or legal guardian’s information as well as the minor’s information. The process to receive a temporary application filled on Oklahoma’s Medical Marijuana Authority site.

Driving Under the Influence

Oklahoma has strict laws against driving under the influence(DUI) whether it be alcohol, cannabis, or other impairing products. Driving under the influence of cannabis is very illegal and will result in a similar punishment to receiving a DUI with alcohol. Consumption of cannabis in the car is illegal for driver and any passengers. The first offense of driving under the influence of cannabis is a drug assessment, imprisonment in jail for no less than 10 days, and a hefty fine. Each offense beyond this penalty increases. 

Although you may be a licensed patient to use cannabis and feel that you must medicate while out we recommend having a designated driver with you or using a taxi service such as Lyft or Uber. 

Last Take

If you are looking to get your medical marijuana license, transportation license, caregivers license, or growers license in Oklahoma follow the application process on the government website HERE. By staying up to date with Oklahoma’s medical marijuana laws you can ensure that your purchase and consumption of cannabis stays within the legal limits. Are you looking to enter Oklahoma’s cannabis market? Reach out to The Open Dør to begin your journey today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *